What if I can't pay my fines?
Is there a minimum payment?
In what order is the docket called?
Can I pay my fines online?
What methods of payment are accepted?
Is there a way to keep the points from going on my record?
How many points will I get for my speeding ticket?
What is the maximum sentence the Judge can impose?
What do I need to do if my license has been suspended?
Can someone else pay my fines?
What time does Court start?
What if I can't be there on my court date?
What should I bring to Court?
Do I have to get an attorney?
Where is the Municipal Court located?
When can I pay my fine?
Q: What if I can't pay my fines?
A:
If you plead guilty, payment is expected that night. If you are unable to pay your fines, you must discuss it with the Judge prior to leaving Court. After the docket has been called, the Judge will call up those with payment concerns. The Judge will evaluate your request and you will receive a bill including your fine amount and court costs. The Judge arranges for a payment plan in which you will make a minimum payment of $100 per month until the total is paid. If this payment amount is not financially possible, this is the time to arrange an alternative payment amount with the Judge.
Q: Is there a minimum payment?
A:
The minimum payment is $100 unless other arrangements have been made with the Judge.
Q: In what order is the docket called?
A:
In general practice, but not exclusively so, the order in which names are called is based on first come, first serve. Your name will not be called unless you check in with the clerks. To avoid any complications or confusion, please check in with the clerks when you arrive.
Q: Can I pay my fines online?
A:
Yes. Our online payment system is administered by nCourt, a third party, which sets the fees related to online payment. Click here to pay your fines online.
Q: What methods of payment are accepted?
A:
At the violations bureau, we take cash, local checks (made payable to City of Maryland Heights) and money orders. We accept credit cards with an additional $4 fee. To use a credit card, fines and costs must be paid in full.
Q: Is there a way to keep the points from going on my record?
A:
In some cases, the Judge may allow you to complete a defensive driving course in order to keep points off of your driving record. You must appear in Court to request the driving course.
Q: How many points will I get for my speeding ticket?
A:
Points are assessed by the Missouri Department of Revenue. A general guide to point assessment is available here; however, you are advised to contact the DOR directly for the most specific and up-to-date information about your violation.
Q: What is the maximum sentence the Judge can impose?
A:
The range of punishment in this Court is up to $1,000 fine and/or 90 days in jail.
Q: What do I need to do if my license has been suspended?
A:
You will need to contact the Missouri Department of Revenue to determine why your license was suspended. If your license was suspended because of a failure to appear in this Court, you must fully dispose of the case here. When that is done, you will be given a compliance notice to take to the Department of Revenue.
Q: Can someone else pay my fines?
A:
Anyone can pay your fines; however, you must be the one to enter a plea.
Q: What time does Court start?
A:
Trial and traffic dockets begin at 6 p.m. Check-ins start at 5:30 p.m.
Q: What if I can't be there on my court date?
A:
You may ask for a continuance. The clerks are able to grant only one continuance per case. Continuances are only granted by phone or in person at our pay window and must be requested at least 24 hours prior to the court date. We cannot consider continuances requested by email or fax.
Q: What should I bring to Court?
A:
You should bring any paperwork that you would like to show to the Judge. This might include proof of insurance, proof of registration or proof of license reinstatement.
Q: Do I have to get an attorney?
A:
You are not required to get an attorney. However, you may want to consider at least talking to an attorney to make sure you understand any possible ramifications of a plea you may enter.
Q: Where is the Municipal Court located?
A:
Court is held in the Municipal Courtroom at the Maryland Heights Government Center, 11911 Dorsett Road. The Government Center is located approximately 1/2 mile east of I-270 at the intersection of Dorsett and Millwell.
Q: When can I pay my fine?
A:
Our office is open for payments from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.